Tallapoosa Bound

by

“Tallapoosa Bound” by John Dilleshaw (March 20, 1930, Atlanta, GA)

“Going back to Tallapoosie
Don’t like these flatwoods
I love the tall pines, the red hills
Boy, that’s a frolicking country
Have a breakdown every other night

I seem to hear something calling me now
Well, maybe I got me a gal up there, who knows
Those red hills, where the tall pines grow
That’s the place, the home of the yellow-legged chickens

Boy, I like my chicken brown
Hot biscuits, sugar in my coffee
Cracklin’ cornbread, baked potaters
Sausage, spare ribs, and backbone
Chittlins, oh boy, ain’t it alive

I think I’ll catch the next train back
If the train don’t run I’ll get me a mule
Yee hoo, such fiddlin!’”

A.A. Gray

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

